killoradar.blogg.se

Power bi desktop logo
Power bi desktop logo











So I eventually figured I should have a way of providing some sort of indicator that told the end user how recent the data was.

power bi desktop logo power bi desktop logo

I started adding this into all my reports because I noticed a pattern of report users who kept asking me if or when the report was refreshed. Power BI Design Practice 3) Data Timestamp The button to add this is located right next to the image button (previous example). I’m ashamed to say I found ZERO use for the shape button the first year I was developing Power BI reports… One day however, I came across a report that utilized this line shape to create clear separation markers for various parts of the report.Īfter I saw the line in use I was sold on the concept, I had seen the light and have been using it ever since! I also go the extra mile and typically color it something that’s complimentary to the colors in the company logo. Power BI Design Practice #2) Divider Lines My personal preference is to add it to the upper left corner of the screen next to the report title. Under the Home tab in Power BI Desktop you’ll find an image icon that will let you add an image from a file on your computer. This one is a quick addition to your report and also helps you set the color tone for other objects. Power BI Design Practice #1) Company Logo So let me run you through how I did each in step. These are all changes that (individually) only add minor improvements to a report, but add them together and it makes a noticeable difference! At the end of the day the customer will notice, and I look for any opportunity to make my reports stand out among the crowd. Let’s take a look at the highlighted examples below and see what changes I implemented between the before and after photos: The five best practices I implement in every report are as follows:ĭedicated DAX measures table (BONUS POINTS if you found this one!) But hey, you can feel accomplished because that last one is hard to spot!Ĭustomer Sales Report BEFORE Applied Changes:Ĭustomer Sales Report AFTER Applied Changes:ĭid you get all five? Ok ok review time, I know most of you didn’t come here to play iSpy for adults. If you can find all FIVE differences however you’ll get…well nothing really. Anyone remember those Spot The Difference sections in the back of the Magazines growing up? Well this is like that, except way cooler! I’ll go ahead and say that you’ll be able to spot the first four differences fairly easily. I’ve captured the report in two screenshots below, a before and after if you will (if Power BI Makeover could be a reality show, this would be it).

power bi desktop logo

If you haven’t already I’d recommend checking it out.

power bi desktop logo

Power bi desktop logo how to#

Specifically how to create Dynamic Top N slicers for tables, and how to select a value by which to filter with. That previous post talks about some pretty cool techniques on how to utilize disconnected slicers. I’m going to use this opportunity to shamelessly direct you to a previous post of mine (and Rob’s), DAX “Reanimator” Series, Episode 1: Dynamic TopN… I’ll be using the report from that post to showcase the best practices I like to apply to ALL my reports. While obviously subjective, I think…(hell, I KNOW) you’ll find some of these these useful in adding some finishing touches to help bridge the gap between a good report…and a GREAT report. I want to share this list back with you, our community. I decided to sit down and come up with a list of techniques that I use in EVERY Power BI report I create. As many of you are aware, a large part of the BI developer’s / analyst’s job is to not only create the report, but also to make sure it looks good, tells a story, pops, or my personal favorite “ is aesthetically pleasing”. I’m going to share some of my best practices for Power BI Reporting I’ve developed over the years. Hello again P3 Adaptive nation, today I’d like to drop some reporting knowledge.











Power bi desktop logo